DC Black Pride Logo

DC Black Pride Awards

The DC Black Awards, presented annually, recognize exemplary members and allies of the Black LGBTQ+ community who have demonstrated true dedication to uplifting and advancing the LGBT community. No awards were presented in 2020.

2021 Recipients

Welmore Cook Award: DeMarc A. Hickson PhD
Welmore Cook Award: Angela Brown
Ernest Hopkins Award: Ernest Hopkins
President’s Award: Stephaun Elite Wallace PhD
Curtis L. Etherly Jr. Ally Award: Brian K. Bond
Curtis L. Etherly Jr. Ally Award: Channing Wickham
DC Black Pride Leadership Award: The Alliance Group (T.A.G.)
DC Black Pride Small Business Award: Greg Evans Real Estate Group
Earline Budd Award: Charmaine Eccles
Eleanor Holmes Norton Award: DC Attorney General Karl A.Racine
Alan Sharpe Award: Courtney Baker-Oliver III
Bishop Kwabena Rainey Cheeks Award: Bishop Kwabena Rainey Cheeks
Charlotte Smallwood Volunteer of the Year Award: Jaye Wynn

Awards were presented on Wednesday, July 21 at the 2021 DC Black Pride Awards Reception.

Welmore Cook Award

The Welmore Cook Award is presented annually to two members of the local Black LGBT community for outstanding leadership. Welmore Cook was one of the co-founders of Black Lesbian & Gay Pride Day which is now known as DC Black Pride.

  2021   DeMarc A. Hickson PhD
Angela Brown
  2019   Bishop Allyson N. Abrams and Bishop Emeritus Diana Williams
Nii-Quartelai Quartey
  2018   Anthony Fox
Anika Simpson, Ph.D.

  2017   Countess Clarke Cooper
Daryl Wilson

  2016   Aisha C. Moodie-Mills 
Darrin Glymph

  2015   Steven Walker
Eboné F. Bell

  2014   Patricia Corbert
Rahim Briggs

  2013   Dr. Imani Woody
Courtney Williams

  2012   Leandra Gilliam

  2011   Khadijah Tribble
Ron Collins

  2010   Charlotte Smallwood
Jeffrey Richardson

  2004   Carlene Cheatam
Otis “Buddy” Sutson

  2003   Barbara Ann Chinn
Ron Lewis

  2002   Rev. Dyan McCray
Ron Simmons

  2001   Toni Collins
Donna Payne

  2000   Cassandra McFerson
Dr. Theo Hodge

  1999   Earline Budd
Everett E. Hamilton, Jr.

  1998   Rayceen Pendarvis
Robyn C. Holden

  1996   Vicki Harris
Michael Saint-Andres

  1995   Wanda Alston
Thomas Gleaton

  1994   Michelle Parkerson
Aundres Scott

  1993   Ric Irick
Willette Griffin

DC Black Pride Leadership Award

The DC Black Pride Leadership Award is presented to Black LGBTQ+ community leaders, thirty years old or under, for outstanding leadership.

  2021   TAG: The Alliance Group at University of DC
  2019   Queen Adesuyi
Kahlib Barton-Garçon
  2018   Impulse Group DC

  2017   Check It Enterprises, LLC

  2016   Victoria Kirby York 
Guy Anthony

  2015   Jessica Pierce
Keith D. Jones, Jr.

  2014   AJ King

  2013   Theara Coleman
Christopher Watson

Ernest Hopkins Award

Establised in 2017, the Unsung Hero Award recognizes two individualswho have worked tirelessly and quietly on behalf of the betterment of the Black LGBTQ+ community. Renamed Ernest Hopkins Award in 2021.

  2021   Ernest Hopkins
  2019   Steven Wilson
  2018   Mary Bowman
Achim Jeremiah Howard

  2017   Shannon Garcon
SaVanna Wanzer

President’s Award

The President’s Award is presented to a member of the community who has done exemplary work in the community over the past year.

  2021   Stephaun E. Wallace PhD
  2019   Derrick Johnson
  2018   Genise Chambers-Woods

  2017   Aaron Bryant

  2016   Kenya Hutton

Charlotte Smallwood Volunteer of the Year Award

The Charlotte Smallwood Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to the DC Black Pride volunteer of the year. This award is named in honor of longtime DC Black Pride volunteer, Charlotte Smallwood.

  2021   Jaye Wynn
  2019   Derrick “Strawberry” Cox
  2018   Kathy Neal

  2017   Maurice David Parker

  2016   Jason Lyric

  2015   Genise Chambers-Woods

  2014   C. Hawkins

  2013   Donald Burch, III

Earline Budd Award

  2021   Charmaine Eccles
  2019   Shi-Queeta-Lee
  2018   Lisa Monet Dupree

Eleanor Holmes Norton Award

  2021   DC Attorney General Karl A. Racine
  2019   Not Awarded
  2018   U.S. Congressman John Lewis
Washington, DC Councilmember Anita Bonds

  2016   Washington, DC Mayor Muriel Bowser

  2011   Washington, DC Mayor Vincent C. Gray

  2010   Washington, DC City Council

  2004   Eleanor Holmes Norton

DC Black Pride Small Business Award

The DC Black Pride Small Business Award, first awarded 2003, acknowledges the contributions of small business entrepreneurs the DC Black LGBTQ community.

  2021   Greg Evans Real Estate Group
  2019   Michael Beale / Mb Staffing Services
  2018   DC Allen / The Crew Club
Everett E. Hamilton / Octane Public Relations

  2004   Shaka King

  2003   Nob Hill

Alan Sharpe Award

The Alan Sharpe Award, first awarded in 2019, acknowledges an individual who has made significant contributions to Black LGBTQ+ creative arts.

  2021   Courtney Baker-Oliver III
  2019   Alan Sharpe

Bishop Kwabena Rainey Cheeks Award

The Bishop Kwabena Rainey Cheeks Award, first awarded in 2021, is presented to a faith leader who has provided outstanding spiritual guidance and support to the Black LGBTQ+ DMV community.

  2021   Bishop Kwabena Rainey Cheeks

Curtis L. Etherly Jr. Ally Award

The Curtis L. Etherly Jr. Ally Award, first awarded in 2018, is presented to a person who has proven themselves to be worthy of being called an “ally” to the Black LGBTQ+ community. urtis L. Etherly Jr. was the embodiment of what it means to be an ally in thought, word and deed.

  2021   Brian Bond
Channing Wickham
  2019   Peggielene Bartels “King Peggy”
Gail Oliver
  2018   Curtis L. Etherly Jr. (Posthumously)

Ruth Ellis Award

The Ruth Ellis Award, named after long time lesbian activist, is presented to an organization whose leadership, action, creativity and/or service has made a positive impact in the lives of black gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons in the community.

  2014   DC Metropolitan Police Gay & Lesbian Liasion Unit (GLLU)

  2004   Adodi - DC

  2003   ZAMI

  2002   Jackson State University/Mississippi Urban Research Center

  2001   Gay Men of Africa Descent

  2000   Sexual Minority Youth Assistance League

Tina Tealsey Award

Each year, the president of the executive board of Black Lesbian & Gay Pride Day, Inc. names a fellow board member who has demonstrated outstanding service on behalf of DC Black Pride. This award is named after an exceptional community activist and former BLGPD, Inc. board member.

  2004   Eric E. Richardson

  2003   Clarence Fluker

  2002   Cheryl Dunn
Toni Collins

  2001   Ronnie Foster

  2000   Melody Lawson

  1999   Cheryl Head

  1998   Robert Jones

  1996   Tina Teasley

Person of the Year

The DC Black Pride “Person of Year” is present to person (gay or non-gay) who has worked tirelessly on behalf of our community and is a positive role model who represents those virtues that everyone can aspire to.

  2003   Mary J. Blige

  2002   Patti LaBelle

  2001   Archishop Carl Beam

  2000   Ruth Ellis

National Black Pride Image Award

The National Black Pride Image Award is given to an organization or individual (gay or non-gay) in the creative arts, humanities and/or media that has created positive images of the black gay, lesbian and transgender community.

  2003   Emil Wibekin

  2002   E. Lynn Harris

  2001   r. erica doyle

  2000   Reggie Ray

National DC Black Pride Corporate Award

The National DC Black Pride Corporate Award is presented to a major corporate that has shown to be supportive of the Black LGBT community throughout the United States.

  2003   MAC Cosmetics



Center for Black Equity
DCBP on Instagram DCBP on Twitter DCBP on Facebook Join the DCBP Mailing List