DC Black Pride Awards

2015 DC Black Pride Award Winners Read about Jessica Pierce Read about Keith D. Jones, Jr. Read more about Ebone F. Bell Read about Steven Walker Read more about Genise Chambers-Woods
The 2015 awards were presented on Wednesday, May 13 at the 25th DC Black Pride Awards Reception.

Welmore Cook Award

The Welmore Cook Award is presented annually to two members of the local Black LGBT community for outstanding leadership. Welmore Cook was one of the co-founders of Black Lesbian & Gay Pride Day which is now known as DC Black Pride.

  2015   Steven Walker and Eboné F. Bell
  2014   Patricia Corbert and Rahim Briggs
  2013   Dr. Imani Woody and Courtney Williams
  2012   Leandra Gilliam
  2011   Khadijah Tribble and Ron Collins
  2010   Charlotte Smallwood and Jeffrey Richardson
  2004   Carlene Cheatam and Otis “Buddy” Sutson
  2003   Barbara Ann Chinn and Ron Lewis
  2002   Rev. Dyan McCray and Ron Simmons
  2001   Toni Collins and Donna Payne
  2000   Cassandra McFerson and Dr. Theo Hodge
  1999   Earline Budd and Everett E. Hamilton, Jr.
  1998   Rayceen Pendarvis and Robyn C. Holden
  1996   Vicki Harris and Michael Saint-Andres
  1995   Wanda Alston and Thomas Gleaton
  1994   Michelle Parkerson/Aundres Scott
  1993   Ric Irick and Willette Griffin

Charlotte Smallwood Award

The Charlotte Smallwood Award is presented to the DC Black Pride volunteer of the year. This award is named after long time DC Black Pride volunteer, Charlotte Smallwood.

  2015   Genise Chambers-Woods
  2014   C. Hawkins
  2013   Donald Burch, III

DC Black Pride Leadership Award

The DC Black Pride Leadership Award is presented to Black LGBT community leaders, thirty years old or under, for outstanding leadership.

  2015   Jessica Pierce and Keith D. Jones, Jr.
  2014   AJ King
  2013   Theara Coleman and Christopher Watson

Ruth Ellis Award

The Ruth Ellis Award, named after long time lesbian activist, is presented to an organization whose leadership, action, creativity and/or service has made a positive impact in the lives of black gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons in the community.

  2014   DC Metropolitan Police Gay & Lesbian Liasion Unit (GLLU)
  2004   Adodi - DC
  2003   ZAMI
  2002   Jackson State University/Mississippi Urban Research Center
  2001   Gay Men of Africa Descent
  2000   Sexual Minority Youth Assistance League

Eleanor Holmes Norton Award

  2011   Washington, DC Mayor Vincent C. Gray
  2010   Washington, DC City Council
  2004   Eleanor Holmes Norton

Tina Tealsey Award

Each year, the president of the executive board of Black Lesbian & Gay Pride Day, Inc. names a fellow board member who has demonstrated outstanding service on behalf of DC Black Pride. This award is named after an exceptional community activist and former BLGPD, Inc. board member.

  2004   Eric E. Richardson
  2003   Clarence Fluker
  2002   Cheryl Dunn and Toni Collins
  2001   Ronnie Foster
  2000   Melody Lawson
  1999   Cheryl Head
  1998   Robert Jones
  1996   Tina Teasley

Person of the Year

The DC Black Pride “Person of Year” is present to person (gay or non-gay) who has worked tirelessly on behalf of our community and is a positive role model who represents those virtues that everyone can aspire to.

  2003   Mary J. Blige
  2002   Patti LaBelle
  2001   Archishop Carl Beam
  2000   Ruth Ellis

National Black Pride Image Award

The National Black Pride Image Award is given to an organization or individual(gay or non-gay) in the creative arts, humanities and/or media that has created positive images of the black gay, lesbian and transgender community.

  2003   Emil Wibekin
  2002   E. Lynn Harris
  2001   r. erica doyle
  2000   Reggie Ray

National DC Black Pride Corporate Award

The National DC Black Pride Corporate Award is presented to a major corporate that has shown to be supportive of the Black LGBT community throughout the United States.

  2003   MAC Cosmetics

DC Black Pride Small Business Award

The DC Black Pride Small Business Award was first awarded in 2003 to acknowledge the contributions of the small Black LGBT local (DC area) entrepreneur.

  2004   Shaka King
  2003   Nob Hill
  2004   Eleanor Holmes Norton
Copyright © 2011-16 DC Black Pride   •  Post Office Box 77313, Washington, DC 20013
DC Black Pride is a program of the Center for Black Equity
All Rights Reserved   •  Privacy Policy   •  Latest update: 04-May-2018 19:33